Counting down to the launch of the Global Precipitation Measurement (GPM)

Image Credit: NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center Join NASA in counting down to the launch of the Global Precipitation Measurement mission’s Core Observatory, starting at noon EST, Thursday, Feb. 27. GPM is a joint mission between NASA and the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency, and it will set a new standard in measuring rain and snow around …

Continue reading ‘Counting down to the launch of the Global Precipitation Measurement (GPM)’ »

NASA’s orbiting space-broadband probe LADEE beams images of Moon back to earth

Series of LADEE star tracker images features the lunar terrain. Image Credit: NASA Ames Earlier this month, NASA’s Lunar Atmosphere and Dust Environment Explorer (LADEE) observatory successfully downlinked images of the moon and stars taken by onboard camera systems, known as star trackers. This is the first time the LADEE team commanded the spacecraft to …

Continue reading ‘NASA’s orbiting space-broadband probe LADEE beams images of Moon back to earth’ »

GOES Satellite Video Shows Movement of Major U.S. Winter Storm

This animation of NOAA’s GOES satellite data shows the progression of the major winter storm in the U.S. south from Feb. 10 at 1815 UTC/1:15 p.m. EST to Feb. 12 to 1845 UTC/1:45 p.m. EST. Image Credit: NASA/NOAA GOES Project, Dennis Chesters A new NASA video of NOAA’s GOES satellite imagery shows three days of movement …

Continue reading ‘GOES Satellite Video Shows Movement of Major U.S. Winter Storm’ »